Game 163 was the final straw for TBS and Chip Caray

Posted on November 30th, 2009 – 4:25 PM
By La Velle

Chip Caray and TBS have parted ways after Caray finished a shaky year with at least one botched call during the Twins-Tigers two-teams-enter-one-team-leaves AL Cental tiebreaker.

The back breaker was the following call during a lineout:

“Line drive. Base hit. Caught out there. The runner tags. Throw to the plate. On target. And in time! A double play!”

Of course, some friends told me that TBS’ entire presentation wasn’t easy on the eyes and was hard on the ears.

Broadcasters are going to make their share of mistakes during games (I have a greater appreciation for their work after filling in on KFAN a few times). It’s unavoidable. But it seems that Caray is coming off of a rough season.

Still, there’s one unanswered question: Why was TBS involved anyway?

Comments are closed.