Scott re-signs for one year; Olvecky to Worlds; Risebrough to hold news conference Tuesday

Posted on April 20th, 2009 – 11:13 AM
By Michael Russo

Former Wild GM Doug Risebrough, who’s been unavailable for comment since being let go last week, will hold a news conference Tuesday at 11 a.m.

Here’s the link to the John Scott article 

The Wild has re-signed one of its unrestricted free agents.

In his first move as the acting general manager, Tom Lynn — who negotiated every contract anyway in his previous role as assistant GM — signed defenseman John Scott to a one-year, $550,000 contract. It’s a one-way contract, meaning he gets paid his NHL salary if he plays in the minors next season.

“John proved he could play at the NHL level in his stint with the Wild at the end of the season,” Lynn said. ”His next challenge will be to show he can not only play, but contribute and make a good team better. If he works as hard as he did for the last two seasons in Houston, I am confident he can make that transition.”

The 6-foot-8 Scott had one assist in 20 games this season, providing a physical presence on a non-physical blue line.

The Wild’s other notable unsigned potential unrestricted free agents are Marian Gaborik, Martin Skoula, Marc-Andre Bergeron, Kurtis Foster and Stephane Veilleux.

Also, Peter Olvecky will leave the Aeros today to represent Slovakia in the World Championships. NHL rules state that if you play in the NHL and you’re invited by your native country to play in the tourney, that supersedes your AHL responsibilities. 

Here is the updated roster situation:


Under contract: G Niklas Backstrom, $6 million; D Kim Johnsson, $4.85 million ($5.3 million salary); RW Pierre-Marc Bouchard, $4.08 million ($4.25 million); D Brent Burns, $3.55 million ($3.4 million); D Nick Schultz, $3.5 million ($3.4 million); D Marek Zidlicky, $3.35 million ($3.5 million); C Mikko Koivu, $3.25 million ($3.3 million); RW Owen Nolan, $2.75 million; RW Antti Miettinen, $2.33 million ($2.5 million); LW Andrew Brunette, $2.33 million ($2.5 million); C Eric Belanger, $1.75 million; C James Sheppard, $1.4 million ($765,000); LW Colton Gillies, $1.0417 million ($875,000); LW Derek Boogaard, $875,000 ($1.025 million); RW Cal Clutterbuck, $725,800 ($623,000); RW Craig Weller, $600,000 ($625,000), D John Scott, $550,000.

Total cap hit: $43,666,944 for 16 players, including $727,778 charged for bought-out Mark Parrish.
Total actual salary: $44,040,778 for 17 players, including $927,778 owed to Parrish and excluding potential bonuses paid to Sheppard and Gillies.

* Salary Cap hit first number; in parentheses is actual salary.
** Salary cap will be announced in late June, but it was $56.7 million in 2008-09.

Restricted free agents (to retain rights, qualifying offer must be tendered by June 29): RW Dan Fritsche, $875,000; C Benoit Pouliot, $765,000; G Josh Harding, $725,000; C Peter Olvecky, $550,000.
*Salary-cap numbers for 2008-09 (Pouliot’s cap hit was $1.7 million).
**Other restricted free agents include minor-leaguers Danny Irmen and Clayton Stoner.

Unrestricted free agents (can become free July 1, may not return): RW Marian Gaborik, $6.33 million; D Martin Skoula, $1.8 million; D Marc-Andre Bergeron, $1.254 million; D Kurtis Foster, $1.025 million; LW Stephane Veilleux, $862,500; C Krys Kolanos, $500,000.

*Salary-cap numbers for 2008-09.
**Other unrestricted free agents include minor-leaguers Nolan Schaefer, Tomas Mojzis and Bryan Lundbohm.

Comments are closed.